The first step is admitting you have a problem

Hi, my name is Maggie and I am addicted to the arts.

The problem started years ago when, fresh out of university, I took a job in publicity at a book publisher. It satisfied that altruistic yearning in me to do something ‘good’. From there I moved to a book festival, which I later quit to take a program in creative book publishing.

I moved from Toronto to Vancouver hoping to put my new certificate to good use, but a weak economy and industry that’s near impossible to break into put the kibosh on that pretty quick.

My problem really manifested itself six months ago. I was working at tedious, mindless job in a windowless office when I decided it was time to get back into the arts. A ridiculous thought to be sure at a time when Vancouver was leading the country in unemployment, and lagging far behind Toronto in terms of it’s culture density. But after months of fighting, cajoling, sweating and intense visualizations (if I can dream it, I can do it! If I can smell it, I can be it…) I finally landed a plum job.

That’s right folks, say hello to the newest member of the Toronto International Art Fair team! Halfway into my second month on the job and it’s already clear to me just how far I’ve come. In my first week I had nightmares about being asked questions about contemporary art and the art market and was sure it would  be no time before I got canned for my repeated braying of “I don’t know art, but I know what I like!” Lucky for me that hasn’t happened yet, but I still have a lot of learning to do.

Entering the art world for the first time is like visiting any other planet — there’s a language, customs, places and people of interest that are all foreign to me but that I must learn if I am to survive. That’s what this blog is all about. You’re going to follow me along the road from earnest neophyte to assimilated worker-bee and finally (hopefully) to indoctrinated master. At the very least, I hope not to embarrass my boss at the fair in six months.

So come with me! What I read, you read. Where I go, you follow. And when I don’t know where to go or what to do, I’m going to ask you.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The first step is admitting you have a problem

  1. Pingback: The first step is admitting you have a problem

Leave a Reply

