Art goes to the movies

It’s Thanksgiving in the States this weekend. Residing north of the border as I do, I obviously won’t be observing the holiday in the gastro sense… however one of my most favorite T-Giving traditions growing up was watching a ridiculous number of movies with my kid sister.

Granted, I don’t get any extra time off this weekend, and it’s also very probable that I’ll spend at least one day of the weekend at Whistler, so my movie-watching window is slim. That said, I’ll sneak in a flick or two over the course.

I love having themes in my movie-watching. For example, I’ll watch movies featuring diners – Mystic Pizza, Pulp Fiction, Coffee and Cigarettes, and sure we’ll slip in Back to the Future, though it’s a stretch. I often find myself conducting a solo google search – Graham rarely remembers the plots, settings or story of flicks (he has a condition we lovingly call cinematic narcolepsy; he is the KO Kid of the theatre,) and is singularly pretty useless to that end.

Nonetheless, I loves me some movies. Up next: movies featuring art, artists and galleries. Please note that Hollywood blockbusters are exempt from my selection, unless they’re at least 10 years old.

I recently read a review on theartblog.org about a recent flick (Untitled) which sounds like a great place to start for a theme weekend. From Variety: “director Jonathan Parker jabs and pokes at the New York contemporary art world with some satirical success in “(Untitled).” Teasing today’s new realms in painting, conceptual art and music is almost too easy, and the impressive aspect of Parker’s latest is an evident grasp and respect for what’s worthy and worthless in the fecund present-day scene. The smart-ass comedy isn’t sustained throughout, but there’s more than enough here for a bright fest roadshow and theatrical gallery space.”

Let’s round out this selection with Art School Confidential, Lust for Life, Pollock, and A Perfect Murder for a little intrigue. What else??

I hear that James Franco is currently doing a stint on General Hospital and playing a graffitti artist who graduated to recreating murder scenes as art installations. I love that just as art is making a resurgence, that a heart-throb actor should step into the role so soon.

It seems like suddenly, well not suddenly, but in boom times, ART is all the rage. And doesn’t that make sense? The NY Times’ Carol Vogel just gave us a great article about confident bravado and bidding at recent auctions; General Hospital tells us that über-contemporary art — tagging and crime-scene stagings — are the most relevant of the moment. Art seems to be coming back to that happy place of unattainable trendiness that you were too broke to afford three years ago, and certainly too broke to afford six months ago.

Awesome. All I need is popcorn.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

