To my loyal readers and subscribers

When I first started this blog in April 2009 I called it Cubism – Thoughts on Art and Life from my Cube and envisioned that it would be my own private travelogue in the art world. As a neophyte I was nervous about coming across as a philistine and wanted to journal and catalogue things that I learned as I played tourist. I had just started working for the Toronto International Art Fair and wanted to make this a blog for the people interested in learning about the arts with me, through the fair, so I renamed this little blog impression/expression. As it turned out, there were more than a few of you who were interested in learning the things I learned.

Nearly two years later I find that I’m not a noob anymore. I have worked gainfully in the arts for the past seven years and I’m no longer wearing the Trainee badge.

I’ve met a lot of really wonderful friends and colleagues in the past 18 months who have given me insight, inspiration, challenges and laughs, who have supported and criticized my blog, and who have ultimately made this blog and my experience that much richer.

I feel now that impression/expression doesn’t quite capture the essence of what I want to blog about anymore. Just like life, there is more to me than just the arts and so a new blog is born: Seven Sided Cube.

A cube with seven sides doesn’t exist in nature. Where is this seventh side, you might ask? It is within the cube, it is without the cube — just as this blog is both within and without the purvey of the art world. I am no artist or gallerist, but I am nonetheless invested in the arts and in the discussions that surround the arts, not to mention the myriad other things that inspire me.

impression/expression will still be the place to go for artist profiles, news, and Art Toronto-related information. But I also hope that you’ll continue to follow along with me as I write about other things at Seven Sided Cube. And I hope as always that you’ll share your own insight and opinions.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

